Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Menu
People menu

People

Academics

University of Aberdeen

Dr Bing Lang

Senior Research Fellow
Department School of Medical Sciences
Location University of Aberdeen
Email bing.lang@abdn.ac.uk

University of Bath

Dr Vasanta Subramanian

Reader
Department Biology and Biochemistry
Location University of Bath
Telephone +44 1225 386315
Email bssvss@bath.ac.uk
Keywords Embryonic and adult Stem cells, Zebrafish disease models, Brain and gut development, IPS cell models, Knockout and transgenic mice, Motor neuron disease

Beatson Institute for Cancer Research

Dr Shehab Ismail

Department Structural Biology of the Cilia Lab
Location Beatson Institute for Cancer Research
Email s.ismail@beatson.gla.ac.uk

Birkbeck, University of London

Dr Anthony Roberts

Department Department of Biological Sciences
Location Birkbeck, University of London
Email a.roberts@mail.cryst.bbk.ac.uk

University of Bristol

Dr Hermes Gadêlha

Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics and Data Modelling
Department School of Engineering
Location University of Bristol
Email hermes.gadelha@bristol.ac.uk
Keywords Flagella, Cilia, mathematical biology, molecular motors, bio-filaments

Prof David Stephens

Professor of Cell Biology
Department School of Biochemistry
Location University of Bristol
Telephone 0117 331 2173
Email david.stephens@bristol.ac.uk

Dr Laura Vuolo

Department Hannover Quay
Location University of Bristol
Telephone 07940 025273
Email laura.vuolo@bristol.ac.uk
Keywords Primary cilia, Dynein-2

Brunel University London

Dr Victor Hernandez

Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences
Department Department of Life Sciences
Location Brunel University London
Email victor.hernandez@brunel.ac.uk
Keywords Bardet-Biedl Syndrome, Primary cilia, ciliogenesis, retinal degeneration, obesity

University of Cambridge

Dr Andrew Carter

Department MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Location University of Cambridge
Email cartera@mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk

University College London

Prof Phil Beales

Department Institute of Child Health
Location University College London
Email p.beales@ucl.ac.uk
Keywords ciliopathy, Bardet Biedl Syndrome, intraflagellar transport

Prof Mike Cheetham

Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology
Department Institute of Opthalmology
Location University College London
Email michael.cheetham@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Stephen Hart

Professor in Molecular Genetics
Department UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
Location University College London
Email s.hart@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Dagan Jenkins

Department Institute of Child Health
Location University College London
Email d.jenkins@ucl.ac.uk
Keywords IFT88, Carpenter syndrome, Jeune syndrome, skeletal ciliopathies, cilia trafficking

Dr Hannah Mitchison

Reader in Molecular and Medical Genetics
Department Institute of Child Health
Location University College London
Email h.mitchison@ucl.ac.uk

University of Dundee

Dr Amelia Shoemark

Department School of Medicine
Location University of Dundee
Email ashoemark@dundee.ac.uk
Keywords Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia

University of East Anglia

Prof Andrea Münsterberg

Department School of Biological Sciences
Location University of East Anglia
Email a.munsterberg@uea.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh

Dr Megan Davey

Department Division of Developmental Biology The Roslin Institute
Location University of Edinburgh
Email megan.davey@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Dr Toby Hurd

Chancellor's Fellow
Department MRC Human Genetics Unit
Location University of Edinburgh
Email toby.hurd@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Prof Andrew Jarman

Professor of Developmental Cell Biology
Department Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences
Location University of Edinburgh
Email andrew.jarman@ed.ac.uk

Dr Roly Megaw

Clinical lecturer / honorary consultant ophthalmologist at NHS Lothian
Department MRC Human Genetics Unit
Location University of Edinburgh
Email roly.megaw@ed.ac.uk

Dr Pleasantine Mill

Department Institute for Genetics and Molecular Medicine
Location University of Edinburgh
Email pleasantine.mill@igmm.ed.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Theil

Reader
Department Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences
Location University of Edinburgh
Telephone 0131 650 3721
Email thomas.theil@ed.ac.uk
Keywords Primary cilium, corticogenesis, radial glial cells, Gli3, Inpp5e

Dr Patricia Yeyati

Senior Scientist
Department University of Edinburgh
Email patricia.yeyati@igmm.ed.ac.uk

University of Exeter

Dr Helen Dawe

Senior Lecturer in Cell Biology
Department Geoffrey Pope Building
Location University of Exeter
Telephone +44 (0)1392 723431
Email h.r.dawe@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Kirsty Wan

Department Living Systems Institute
Location University of Exeter
Email k.y.wan2@exeter.ac.uk
Keywords motile cilia, microscale fluid mechanics, flagella of protists

Harwell - Medical Research Council

Dr Dominic Norris

Department MRC Harwell
Location Harwell - Medical Research Council
Email d.norris@har.mrc.ac.uk

Imperial College London

Dr Eric Keaveny

Department Imperial College London
Email e.keaveny@imperial.ac.uk
Keywords biofluid mechanics, mathematical modelling and computation, microscale fluid-structure interactions

Dr Robert Mahen

Department Department of Physics
Location Imperial College London
Email r.mahen@imperial.ac.uk

Institute of Cancer Research

Dr Barbara Tanos

Department Institute of Cancer Research
Location Institute of Cancer Research
Email barbara.tanos@icr.ac.uk

King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Tassos Grammatikopoulos

Consultant in Paediatric Hepatology
Department Paediatric Liver, GI & Nutrition Centre
Location King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Telephone 020 3299 9000 ext 31162
Email t.grammatikopoulos@nhs.net
Keywords Paediatric Liver diseases, Cholangiopathies, Primary cilia, Doublecortin domain containing protein 2

King's College London

Dr Shukry Habib

Department Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
Location King's College London
Email shukry.habib@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Karen Liu

Reader in Signalling & Development
Department Craniofacial Development & Stem Cell Biology
Location King's College London
Telephone 020 7188 8035
Email karen.liu@kcl.ac.uk

University of Leeds

Prof Colin Johnson

Professor of Medical & Molecular Genetics
Department Section of Ophthalmology and Neurosciences, Leeds Institute of
Location University of Leeds
Telephone +44 (0)113 343 8443
Email medcaj@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Takashi Ochi

University Academic Fellow
Department Astbury Centre for Structural Molecular Biology
Location University of Leeds
Telephone 0113 3432528
Email t.ochi@leeds.ac.uk
Keywords Centrosome, Cilia, Basal body, Structure biology

Dr Natalia Riobo-Del Galdo

Department Faculty of Medicine and Health
Location University of Leeds
Email n.a.riobo-delgaldo@leeds.ac.uk

University of Leicester

Dr Robert Hirst

Principal Scientist
Department Department of Respiratory Sciences
Location University of Leicester
Telephone 0116 252 5817
Email rah9@le.ac.uk
Keywords Primary ciliary dyskinesia, Motile cilia, Respiratory, Ependymal cilia, Cilia genetics

University of Liverpool

Dr Urszula McClurg

Tenure Track Fellow
Department Institute of Integrative Biology
Location University of Liverpool
Telephone 0151 795 7735
Email urszula.mcclurg@liverpool.ac.uk
Keywords cancer, meiosis, centrosome, synaptonemal complex, cell division

Newcastle University

Dr John Sayer

Senior Clinical Lecturer in Nephrology
Department Institute of Genetic Medicine
Location Newcastle University
Telephone +44 191 241 8608
Email john.sayer@newcastle.ac.uk
Keywords CEP290, nephronophthisis, cystic kidney disease

University of Oxford

Dr Fiona Bangs

Postdoctoral Researcher
Department Oxford Institute of Radiation Oncology
Location University of Oxford
Email fiona.bangs@oncology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Jordan Raff

Department Dunn School of Pathology
Location University of Oxford
Email jordan.raff@path.ox.ac.uk

Prof. John Vakonakis

Associate Professor in Structural Biology and Biophysics
Department Department of Biochemistry
Location University of Oxford
Email ioannis.vakonakis@bioch.ox.ac.uk
Keywords Centriole assembly, Malaria cytoadherence, Structural biology, Protein-protein interactions

Dr Angus Wann

Research Fellow
Department Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology
Location University of Oxford
Email angus.wann@kennedy.ox.ac.uk
Keywords Primary cilia, Inflammatory signalling, Osteoarthritis, endocytosis

Oxford Brookes University

Prof Sue Vaughan

Prof. Cell and molecular biology
Department Gipsy Lane
Location Oxford Brookes University
Telephone +447909039582
Email svaughan@brookes.ac.uk
Keywords basal bodies, trypanosoma, flagella, electron microscopy, Leishmania, transitional fibres

University of Plymouth

Dr Bing Hu

Associate Professor (Reader) in Oral and Dental Health Research
Department Peninsula Dental School, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Location University of Plymouth
Telephone +44 (0) 1752 437804
Email bing.hu@plymouth.ac.uk

Queen Mary University of London

Dr Cleo Bishop

Department Blizard
Location Queen Mary University of London
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2343
Email c.l.bishop@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Paul Chapple

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology
Department William Harvey Research Institute
Location Queen Mary University of London
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6242
Email j.p.chapple@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jean Marie Delalande

Lecturer
Department Blizard
Location Queen Mary University of London
Email j.m.delalande@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Susana Godinho

Department BCI
Location Queen Mary University of London
Email s.godinho@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Peter King

Department William Harvey Research Institute
Location Queen Mary University of London
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6242
Email p.j.king@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Martin Knight

Professor of Mechanobiology
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Location Queen Mary University of London
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8868
Email m.m.knight@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords primary cilia, polycystins, IFT, cartilage, mechanosignalling

Dr Pavel Novak

Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering and Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Location Queen Mary University of London
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5183
Email p.novak@qmul.ac.uk

Mr Manoj Ramachandran

Department Barts and the London NHS Trust
Location Queen Mary University of London
Email manoj.ramachandran@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Prof Hazel Screen

Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Location Queen Mary University of London
Email h.r.c.screen@qmul.ac.uk

Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Claire Hogg

Paediatric respiratory consultant
Department Clinical lead Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia
Location Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust
Telephone 020 7351 2681
Email c.hogg@rbht.nhs.uk

University of Sheffield

Prof Colin Bingle

Professor of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology
Department Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease
Location University of Sheffield
Telephone +44 (0)114 215 9514
Email c.d.bingle@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Anne-Gaelle Borycki

Senior Lecturer
Department Department of Biomedical Science
Location University of Sheffield
Email a.g.borycki@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Andy Furley

Professor of Developmental Neuroscience
Department Department of Biomedical Science
Location University of Sheffield
Email a.j.furley@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Albert Ong

Professor of Renal Medicine, Head, Academic Unit of Nephrology
Department Kidney Genetics Group, Department of Infection Immunity and Car
Location University of Sheffield
Telephone +44 114 271 3402 (direct), 271 2237 (Academic sec- Jean Lazenby)
Email a.ong@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Gewndolen Reilly

Department Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Location University of Sheffield
Email g.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Tanya Whitfield

Department Department of Biomedical Science
Location University of Sheffield
Email t.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Southampton

Prof Jane Lucas

Professor of Paediatric Respiratory Medicine, Honorary Consultant Paediatric Respiratory Medicine
Department Medicine
Location University of Southampton
Email jlucas1@soton.ac.uk
Keywords primary ciliary dyskinesia

Dr Gabrielle Wheway

Lecturer in Functional Genomics
Department Faculty of Medicine
Location University of Southampton
Email g.wheway@soton.ac.uk

St. George’s Medical School, University of London

Dr Soo-Hyun Kim

Senior Lecturer and Group Leader
Department Molecular and Clinical Sciences Research Institute
Location St. George’s Medical School, University of London
Telephone 020 8266 6199
Email skim@sgul.ac.uk
Keywords Ciliopathy, Fertility, Puberty, Neuroendocrine, Development

University of Warwick

Dr Marco Polin

Department Physics Department
Location University of Warwick
Email m.polin@warwick.ac.uk

University of Wolverhampton

Dr Paraskevi Goggolidou

Department Faculty of Science and Engineering
Location University of Wolverhampton
Email p.goggolidou@wlv.ac.uk

^ Back to Top